Hong Kong

It’s been a good 8 years since my last visit to Hong Kong back in September 2008. From what I remember of that trip, Hong Kong had an electric buzz that swept through the bustling city that married the eastern culture to the glamorous western cosmopolitan ways harmoniously. Of course a big portion of my trip back then was wasted in Disneyland. No regrets though, nothing quite compares to the magic of Mickey and the princesses!

So this year on my way back to Dhaka from Tokyo, an opportunity had presented itself for me to have a short transit in Hong Kong this spring, I wasn’t going to turn it down that easily.

The trip was  everything I could hope for and more. First off, I would highly recommend whomever to stay at the W Hotel Hong Kong , if they can because I have to hand it to the hotel for making my stay that much more spectacular.

While I highly doubt you will possibly run out of things to do in Hong Kong, I wanted to go ahead and fill you in on my excursion. I truly did enjoy the ferry ride from Wan Chai/ Central to Tsim Sha Sui. Who knew I would have a thing for ferry boats? Unfortunately during my mid March visit to Hong Kong, the weather was unabashedly gloomy and cold.    Victoria Peak is one of the tourist landmarks and a must visit for anyone traveling to Hong Kong however due to the overcast I had to hold out a little longer before ticking it off my travel check list. I then visited the Man Mo temple, which houses the gods of War and Literature in the city , which in all honesty were a bit underwhelming after my visit to Tokyo. I spent the rest of my time strolling around the city, absorbing as much as I could during my short trip.

Hong Kong has no shortage of larger than life and over the top shopping destinations which almost puts Dubai to shame with their abundant options of western and eastern brands. Given my uncontrollable need to shop, I was in for a treat.

Two words. Tax. Free.

This only fueled my disease further. Mong Kok Ladies Market is a night market, that is similar to the china town-esque and Pratunam type markets in other parts of the world (Bangkok anyone?). However I must commend that the quality of the items here are far more superior to its counterparts else where. Pacific Place is one of the new upscale developments and is the home to just about every brand you could think of. Other than that Elements, Time Square and Harbour City are excellent options if you are feeling spendy. The shopping doesn’t end there. The duty free at Hong Kong international itself is second to none when it comes to good splurge.

Over the recent years I have learned to appreciate good food. Once an ardent picky eater I have slowly but surely grown a far more delectable palate than pasta and chicken nuggets. Food is an integral part of the Hong Kong experience and to say it nicely, you have to leave all your reservations at the baggage claim when you arrive at the airport. The options are endless.

To kick it off, my first meal was at Kam’s Roast Goose. I obviously ordered the name sake with steamed rice. It was simple, filling and delicious. Egg tarts are a delicacy in this part of the world and are a definite must try. One of my more luxurious experiences in Hong Kong was definitely my Sunday brunch at the Ozone Restaurant, on the 118th floor of the Ritz Carlton hotel. This is the holy grail for all  brunch enthusiasts. From the foie gras burger, the selection of fresh seafood, the long array of scrumptious desserts to the free flow champagne, I was in pure bliss. More than just the food, the views were pretty spectacular too from the 118th floor and the decor it self should be considered as art. For a more humble but never the less savory option, you must try DimDimSum. They have a good variety of dim sums and also many options for vegetarians and people who don’t enjoy red meat.

Leave a Reply

